Taking a Rain Check on Valentine’s Day

Last week, my husband asked me what I wanted to do for Valentine’s Day, and I looked at him, my eyes full of need, and whispered, “Take a nap.” He laughed, I laughed, and together, we decided the only thing to do was cancel Valentine’s Day.

Yep.

Not forever, but possibly, at least until the youngest is potty trained and can sleep through the night. That’s where people lose me when they tell me I have to keep the romance alive in my marriage after kids. Are you kidding? I’m working to keep myself alive and two tiny children who depend on me for everything. I don’t have time to worry about keeping romance alive, too!

Romance to me is when my husband comes home from work and immediately grabs the baby off my hip while I’m cooking dinner. Or when he throws some shoes on the toddler and takes her to the park for half an hour while the baby naps so I can get the house (and myself) back in order.

Seriously, nothing turns me on more.

I can’t think of anything worse than trying to dress myself up for a night out on Valentine’s Day, a.k.a. the Longest Dinner Wait of the Year. Why on earth would I want to detangle myself from my baby, only to shove myself into control top pantyhose and an itchy push-up bra and stand in high heels for a 45-minute wait at Olive Garden with every other couple in town?

Continue Reading

Leave a Reply

