What Do We Tell Sydney?

Originally published on EverydayFamily:

“The night before my scheduled c-section, I cried as I carried my daughter to her bed. This was her last night as an only child, and she had absolutely no idea.

Would she be able to handle the transition to big sister? Would it be difficult? Would she hate him? Would it scar her forever?

Clearly, I was overthinking things, as siblings have been born and integrated into families seamlessly for years, but, hey, I was an emotional, 40-week pregnant woman. I had a lot on my mind.

Initially, bringing him home was fine. As long as she could still watch her Peppa Pig in either my or her father’s lap, she was content.

Then… things got crazy. “

Continue Reading

Leave a Reply

