It Doesn’t Matter

Everyone goes into their pregnancy thinking, “I’m going to have a healthy baby.” Especially if it’s their first; that’s the default mindset.

We like to think we’re worried about the baby’s development, which is why most women will say, “Oh, I don’t care, as long as it’s healthy!” when asked what sex they prefer, when that’s actually just a politically correct way of avoiding the question, because we all know there is usually a preference in the back of our minds.

It’s just what you say. You say, “As long as it’s healthy, I’m happy with a boy or a girl.”

But… what if it isn’t healthy? Then what? Give it back? Ask for a refund?

No. Not an option.

You just do it. Whatever it is. You do it. You sit at the hospital. You let surgeons cut them open. You learn new ways of living. You learn new ways of becoming normal. You learn about medical technologies you’d never heard of, or thought of, and certainly never envisioned being used on your child. Your mindset was in default; your child was going to be healthy.

Well, it wasn’t. So, what are you going to do now?

IT. We’re gonna suck it up, and do it. For them. Because they are teeny, tiny babies who didn’t ask to be born, and didn’t ask to need medical intervention.

So, it really doesn’t matter. It doesn’t matter if it’s a healthy girl, or a healthy boy, or an unhealthy girl, or unhealthy boy. The new answer should be, “It doesn’t matter; it’s ours, and we already love it.”

We love you, Jackson. We’ll do whatever IT takes. We already are.

6 thoughts on “It Doesn’t Matter

  1. elsiecupcake says:

    Hi! I know you don’t know me but I just wanted to say I’m thinking of you and your family and I’m sending all of my good energy and love to your son. I hope his surgery goes really well!

    Like

  2. Elyse says:

    I was directed here from a shared link of your blog. I don’t know you personally, but I am definitely sending positive thoughts and love to you and your son. I certainly hope that everything goes perfectly and you are able to take home your beautiful and healthy son!

    Like

Leave a Reply

