WE are a family

I wrote an article for EverdayFamily, a wonderful parenting website, about those first few hours and days after the birth of my son.

They were terrifying.

As beautiful and euphoric as my daughter’s birth was, that’s how terrible and scary my son’s birth was, and I didn’t know what to think. Or how to feel. I was scared of my own son.

Take a gander if you think you can relate:

I Was Scared of My Newborn Son

Also, thank you, so much, to all our new followers and subscribers. I am grateful that my post about Facebook and special needs families resonated with y’all (yep, Texan, sorry!), but it’s true. The parents in those groups have become more intimate than some of my family, because only they know what it’s like to go through life with a child having the same circumstances as mine.

That’s invaluable. There is no price tag you can put on that relief– the relief that comes from knowing someone actually understands. They truly get it.

We create our own dysfunctional families in these groups, make virtual friends, and sometimes even real-life friends. Because, we’re all in this together (cue High School Musical music).

Cheers!

Rachel & Jackson

One thought on “WE are a family

  1. salijackt says:

    As someone with a genetic disorder, I really related to your post about finding support online. I then went back and read all of your past posts. You are an excellent writer, thank you for letting us join you in your journey. I will pray for you, for Jackson, and for Sidney.

    Like

Leave a Reply

